graceland's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Last night, she said

I had a great night tonight. Reminescent of the old times. When New York and I were younger and cooler.

Dinner with a friend at Sushi Samba and then another friend called asking me to come downtown to see 30 Seconds to Mars at some event he was working. I wasn't really in the mood but he was pushing it and I mentioned it to my dining companion and she was down. I thought, "What the hell? How many more nights like this do I have?" and we went downtown to Bowery afer an excellent dinner.

We got to the venue and it was a complete shitshow of scenesters clawing at the velvet ropes. My friend was working the rope, so luckily, we got right in and didn't have to deal with the line.

As we got in we realized two things: 1) It was a vodka sponsored event serving free alcohol and 2) DJ AM was spinning. Word.

We hit the bar ASAP and then found ourselves some great real estate right in front of AM, next to the stage. And because we are shameless (what do I care, I'm leaving town...) we snapped some nice shots of AM spinning.

After a while, we did some shots of vodka that were being served and my friend went to grab us some more drinks at the bar, leaving me, alone. Giovani Ribisi is suddenly right next to me, in AM's area. He's hot. I am dying for my friend to get back and see this.

Then a paparazzi starts talking to me. He asks to shoot my picture. He asks if he knows me. No, I tell him. He asks what I do and for my card. He kisses my hand when we shake. He thinks I'm pretty, he says in a backhanded way. I'm taken off guard. I keep waiting and waiting for my friend. She's getting nowhere at the bar. I try to dance around so I don't have to talk.

A little while later, he steps down from the dias he was shooting on and comes around, asking me to come in the VIP area with him. To stand with DJ AM in the booth. I thank him but mention I'm waiting for my friend. He says when she comes back, he'll take both of us in. I just kinda nod and look away.

She finally came back with our drinks and I filled her in on everything. Photog is waving us into VIP. I ignore him and want to stay to see the band that's coming down to the stage. He ends up coming back out.

Friend keeps running up to stage to get a shot of Jared Leto. I stay in our spot. I notice a guy next to me, sitting on the stairs to the dias that the photog is now back on, rolling a blunt. I smile, and he smiles at me. He rolls that blunt in seconds. It's remarkable. I smile and lean over, "Well done. Clean and fast."

He looks like ?estlove from The Roots. He smiles at me and thanks me. I tell him that I also plan on hitting it.

If I took him by surprise he didn't show it. He lit it and hit it a few times, then he passed it over to me. I hit it low and passed it back. We nodded to each other. He passed it to his friend. I thought that was it, but he passed it to me again. I hit it. I passed it back and he asked my name and what I do. He told me his name but I couldn't understand him, it was too loud. I said, you remind me of ?estlove and he smiled and nodded. I said, it's the 'fro and I lightly patted the top of it. He smiled, a cool cat in dark shades. I swear he was ?estlove.

The photographer catches wind of us chatting, my friend came back and the photog insisted on taking shots of us dancing.

The show ended. I had a nice buzz. We called it a night.

1:14 a.m. - 2006-09-15

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

Sullivan40
CubicleGirl
Toastress
isingsolo


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com