graceland's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

The \"C\" word

The cat's been crawling out of the bag, and I'm fairly anonymous here, so I guess it's ok to write that my Dad is sick. He's got stage 1A lung cancer. What the hell is 1A? An orchestra seat for the lung cancer symphony?

They caught it early, which is uncommon with lung cancer, so it's very treatable. We won't know what that treatment is until the pathology of the nodule (nice word for tumor) and surrounding cells comes back - hopefully tomorrow. At any rate, he's out of ICU now and already bitching about being laid up, so normalcy abounds.

Getting the cancer news is pretty alarming at first. But then you realize it was a club everyone's been in for a while. And you see it's not the end of the world. There's almost a kindness to it, giving you a chance to prepare yourself for what is inevitable for all of us. Different from a fatal car accident or something else sudden.

So while I believe my Dad is going to be just fine and with us for another long spell, this situation is reminding me how lucky I've been to have this great Dad my whole life. We've pushed and pulled through growing pains, but above all, he's been my best friend; my biggest fan. My role model. He's The Man. He's just...my Dad. And I sure don't want to lose him anytime soon.

2:20 a.m. - 2005-07-29

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

Sullivan40
CubicleGirl
Toastress
isingsolo


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com