graceland's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

The Original Wedding Crasher

So my Dad was in the hospital longer than expected but he seems to be bouncing back quickly now that he's out. We're all taking shifts to hang with him during the day while my mom works, since he isn't allowed drive and needs to rest up. For my shift, I'm thinking I'm going to bust him out of the house so we can check out "The Wedding Crashers."

My Dad used to be a professional wedding crasher, before he married my Mom. In fact, he's told me that when he started dating my Mom, he told her to get dressed up and one of their dates - they wedding hopped. That's what he called it. I'd lay some money on him having a solid rap back in the day.

When I first moved to NYC, I remember him saying, "Grace, you should get yourself dressed up and head over to the Pierre on a Saturday night and crash weddings. You can get drunk and have a great meal for free. I bet they have fantastic hors d'oeuvre's there! Listen, all you do is when someone asks you who you know, just pick a side - bride or groom and then start asking them about themselves. Let them do the talking." I thought he was insane. I guess I'm the insane one, as Vaughn and Wilson clean up at the B.O. with my old man's con.

Well, we'll see what trouble we can get into on my shift this week. I think we may be able use this illness to our advantage and get into some sort of tomfoolery together. He and I love the hijinks. Moreso me than him, but I'm sure it's still in there somewhere...

10:27 p.m. - 2005-08-02

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

Sullivan40
CubicleGirl
Toastress
isingsolo


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com