graceland's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Thanks for the grenade, better luck next time

So I started thinking, maybe I'm just a little bit too self-sufficient. I woke up to my phone ringing with a restricted #; I didn't pick it up. Then my roommate knocks on my bedroom door, "Grace, there's been an explosion on your block at work, you'd better leave early, it's going to take you a while to get to work."

Great, I think to myself.

I play my messages, it was my friend who saw the news and very routinely said, "The British Consulate was just bombed, I think that's your work building, call me back." No panic, completely calm, just an inquiry.

I expected other calls to start rolling in so I took a shower and started to get ready for work. No one called. No one. So I called my parents to let them know that I wasn't at work when the explosion went off and my father said, "Oh yeah, your Mother and I saw that this morning. We thought of you."

"Well, did you think to call?" I asked.

"Nope, we knew you'd call if something was wrong."

Errr *scratching head* just how would I call if something were wrong? If something were wrong, me and my phone would be blown to bits.

It pretty much went like this with all the people I called who had already heard the news.

I went to work. Passed through the camera crews who completely took over the area, passed through a barricade and police line, bought my coffee and went to work.

I worked all day, while through the window behind my computer monitor, I see the NYPD, ATF, FBI and whomever else walk the the roofs and scale the sides of the buildings on either side of me, searching for clues.

Actually, I worked my ass off today. I've been really busy lately.

And that pretty much sums up my day.

9:41 p.m. - 2005-05-05

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

Sullivan40
CubicleGirl
Toastress
isingsolo


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com