graceland's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Marathon Woman

I am so f-ing tired. I went to Chicago on Friday which was a story unto itself. Emergency work thing that I was sent in to clean up. The elevator in my building broke the night before, so I am running downstairs at dawn to get to the airport and go to get money and my ATM didn't work. I had to borrow money off my roommate and the deli guys.

The day was weird, stressful, bizarre, ending with a two hour delay at O'Hare during which time I ran into a friend from college and had a beer, then had a beer with my audio guy who decided to tell me that he's always thought I am sexy. That was weird. I don't think anyone has ever said that to me before, in that way. Like someone I know casually. Who's just telling people they are sexy? That made me laugh and say,"really?" He said he didn't know what it was, I have this thing...

I don't know. That was funny.

I met a cool guy on the plane. A documentary filmaker. We swapped stories about shooting.

I got out at my place and some friends spotted me and told me to come for a drink at the local bar, so I ended up going on and hanging out for a while. Ran into a guy from college outside who I invited to our party tomorrow and he proceeded to jokingly ask, aren't we a little old for keggers and then walked into a newstand and smacked his face against the glass. The guy I was with let out an "Oh Boy" followed by a "I don't think he's going to remember about the party." And I ducked inside to save him the embarrassment of thinking I saw the debacle.
*~*
Today I was woken up at 8:30am because a keg was delivered to our place and the elevator was broken. My roommate and I carried the keg up eight flights of stairs. That's right, 8 flights of stairs. A full keg. Tiny blood vessels in my palm broke. And then she picked up ice and we both went to the grocery store and bought 10 bags of mixers. We carried them up too. I thought I was going to die at one point. I was just so fucking beat.

We kept going. We found out that the elevator isn't going to be fixed until Monday, so we made arrangements to bring the kegs over from the local bar that was storing them for us on a dolley. Six girls and two guys. We carried all three up and 8 bags of ice. I gave the Johm Belushi "When the Germans bombed pearl harbor" speech and some Rocky rhetoric. People were pumped!

You can talk to me about a marathon, because I finished one today. I ran up and down a couple more times for garbage runs and supplies. I even picked up stuff for my neighbor on one run to save her the trip.

Now I have to clean. People keep calling me to meet them out. I have my Philly crew in town and people are so jacked up to be here that they are ready to go go go. I am not going anywhere.

I'm cleaning and then going to rest. I have to be fun for the 150 people showing up at my place tomorrow but I really would just like to lay in bed somewhere - any bed, anywhere that there aren't 200 people around.

Time to vaccuum. My body is starting to freeze up.

9:44 p.m. - 2004-11-06

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

Sullivan40
CubicleGirl
Toastress
isingsolo


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com