graceland's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

God Bless Bush's America

My Heavens. I can't say that I can ever remember seeing my world filled with so many depressed people. I could hear co-workers releasing audible sighs and the occasion "argh" at their desks today as a result of Dubya being re-elected.

It invigorated me. I was proud of the hour-and-half-long line I stood in to vote yesterday. I've voted in many elections in NYC and never have I stood and waited as I did yesterday. I was proud of those first time voters and others yesterday, all seemingly making the effort to say "No" to the Bush administration and its policies. It made me proud to be an American.

Regardless of whom you supported, if you went out and voted yesterday, I applaud you. You made yourself heard. If you voted for Kerry or a candidate other than Bush, rest assured that you made a difference. You told the administration we are here, in large enough numbers to be right behind you, questioning your leadership. We're organized and we'll be watching you. We will not back down.

If you voted for Bush, I hope that you feel the same. I hope that your vote said to the President that we are here and being counted, so rule honestly with our best interests at heart. Do right this time around.

And for those ages 18-24, who showed a disappointing turnout of 1-10 of you voting, I'm sorry that many of you didn't realize that your inaction has dealt your own fate. Now we know what "Vote or Die" really means as the youth of America will be the first called to involuntarily fight this unwinnable war. The next to give their lives for oil in the name of evil empires that the U.S. created.

It's amazing that Bush found Jesus at the end of the campaign isn't it? Who am I to judge, Catholicism (my religion) teaches that Jesus loves and embraces any who come to him, even in sin, if they have faith. It's just surprising to me that such a faith driven, moralistic man like Bush's only church/service visits are bi-annual. My parish used to call those frowned upon worshippers Christmas and Easter parishners.

I can't help but to see a parallel between the almighty christian voting block and the "enemy" that we are fighting. They voted in a leader that supports their God and his teachings, as we fight terrorists who take lives in the name of their Allah. A celebrity death match of intangible divinities, truly a case study for the Yale Divinity School. Best of luck to you boys.

And so here we stand. Centuries after the first documented Holy Wars, in a world far advanced in science and technology and learning, embroiled in the unsolvable quagmire of a genuine Holy War with a President who can't pronounce the word nuclear. Good Heavens, let's hope he understands the ramifications of it.

God Bless the land of the free, the home of the brave, our countrymen who ignore their own economic welfare to support a leader with a self-serving agenda cloaked in God to deliver high profit corporate energy interests.

8:58 p.m. - 2004-11-03

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

Sullivan40
CubicleGirl
Toastress
isingsolo


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com