graceland's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Spreading my Sunshine

It was a kid day for me. I went Christmas shopping for toys in response to letters from Santa that I am answering. The gifts go to children in the area who may not receive gifts for Christmas based on their financial situation. It's more fun for me, I think, to buy for them. I wish I could be there when they open them, but of course it's anonymous so that won't work.

Tonight I went to a training session for the volunteer organization that I've joined. It's called Project Sunshine and essentially you go visit terminally ill kids in the hospital and play with them. I'm really excited to get involved.

I do well with children, I guess I am kinda a big kid. In the hospitals we'll be a break from all the family and caregivers they see each day, we go in and paint their faces or make arts and crafts or play music. Sometimes we'll just sit there and talk, smile and try to help take their minds off of their reality.

I guess around the holidays I think about children more. It breaks my heart to think of a child alone or disappointed around this time of year. Being a kid should be the happy time of your life. I also feel a responsibility to the children of the world, I think it takes a community effort to help raise a balanced and happy individual and because I don't have children of my own isn't an excuse for me to neglect the children who are out there.

That probably sounds really corny, like beauty pageant speak, but it's heart felt.

So I start next week with bedside visits. I'll let you know how it goes.

8:08 p.m. - 2003-12-09

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

Sullivan40
CubicleGirl
Toastress
isingsolo


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com