graceland's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Shadows Paintin' Our Faces

I saw "Lost in Translation" tonight and suddenly my life came together.

I've been struggling over the last few weeks with the concept of understanding how relationships work. How emotional connections can be forged with other people of the opposite sex when you are in a committed, monogamous relationship. A close friend of mine have been preparing me for that, saying that emotional connections with other people don't stop just because you've committed and I've struggled with that because I just couldn't understand it.

I've lived a diverse and somewhat strange life. There have been many people that I have strongly connected with in other countries - who by a word, or an action or by experiencing something with then has completely altered my path in life. Those experienced changed who I am to the core and I never saw those people after that period of time.

Lost in Translation spoke to me in that it said, these connections will happen, and that doesn't mean that I will destroy my relationship, it means that it will continue my growth as a person.

But the truth in that, the most poignant moment to me, was when the lounge singer could be heard singing a an obscure song from the 70's. It's completely weird, because I was walking around this weekend singing that song this weekend. It's a great song, and cleverly placed in the movie to tell a story within the story.

Check it.

~-~

Midnight at the Oasis

Midnight at the oasis

Send your camel to bed

Shadows paintin' our faces

Traces of romance in our heads

Heaven's holdin' a half-moon

Shinin' just for us

Let's slip off to a sand dune, real soon

And kick up a little dust

Come on, Cactus is our friend

He'll point out the way

Come on, till the evenin' ends

Till the evenin' ends

You don't have to answer

There's no need to speak

I'll be your belly dancer, prancer

And you can be my sheik

------ guitar solo ------

I know your Daddy's a sultan

A nomad known to all

With fifty girls to attend him, they all send him

Jump at his beck and call

But you won't need no harem, honey

When I'm by your side

And you won't need no camel, no no

When I take you for a ride

Come on, Cactus is our friend

He'll point out the way

Come on, till the evenin' ends

Till the evenin' ends

Midnight at the oasis

Send your camel to bed

Got shadows paintin' our faces

And traces of romance in our heads

9:46 p.m. - 2003-10-27

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

Sullivan40
CubicleGirl
Toastress
isingsolo


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com