graceland's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Bush's Tower of Pisa

I watched the President's address tonight. Normally I don't, because it's work for me. I weigh the strategy behind each word, the color of his shirt, choice of tie, facial ticks, backgrounds and more, like he's my client. Like his advisors are my staff. It's innate, I can't not do it. I specialize in media.

It was well done. I saw what they were doing. Borrowed a little of the Bubba strategy by sharing the story of a firefighter from Miss - I think it was Miss. They got that smirk off the President's face. They kept him tieless and top shirt button open, suggesting that he's rolled up his sleeves and been working with the people all day. NBC split screen with the people in a Red Cross center in Biloxi. I sensed that the White House arranged for that and may have even shot it themseleves because they honed in on a disabled woman in the front row. Tugging at the emotional heartstrings of America as Bush strained to look compassionate. They buried an apology in there right after he outlined his action steps - bang, bang, bang, pow.

It was well done, I applaud them. It was a tough job to pull off. One thing nagged at me though. He looked superimposed in the setting. Like he was speaking in front of a blue screen and they shopped in the NOLA background. Was it really live in NOLA? I couldn't stop thinking he was somewhere in the bowels of the OEB, doing a live to tape that he was able to redo over and over until it was perfect. It just...wasn't right.

Anyway, I respect a person who is honest enough to accept accountability for errors. That's important to me and he did it.

Even if his advisors actually had to create a tape of news clips showing him how bad the situation was, the lapse of time, how the media actually caught all of this on tape and the American public saw it all in real time while the President was insulated at GOP fundraisers and doing flyby's in Air Force One. Apparently it took him several viewings of the tape to understand why America was so mad.

What I can tell you? Rome wasn't built in a day. What we have right now is a Tower of Pisa. Crooked and leaning, but it's standing. Let's hope everything else starts to flesh out.

10:31 p.m. - 2005-09-15

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

Sullivan40
CubicleGirl
Toastress
isingsolo


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com