graceland's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Season of the Witch

Last night was a good time. I've forged a out-of-bar friendship with my local bartender, which is really against the rules and always a recipe for disaster, but I'm doing it anyway because I feel compelled to know his story. He's an enigma and intrigues me. I know I should leave that alone for the better good of everyone, but did Nancy Drew ever leave a mystery unsolved?

So my friend had a gig at this bar he works at and it was his night off so I invited him to hang out. It was interesting and I stayed out longer than I should have.

I'm a little bit selfish with my craving to know everyone's mysteries. This guy is a tough one. At first glance, you would say player, but he's shown me that there's something else in there. He discloses piecemeal. I'll get to it. I love a project.

Speaking of projects, I have this Kentuckey Derby party tomorrow and hats are required for the ladies. So I canvassed Chinatown afterwork and picked up odds and ends that I need to attach to my hat to complete this theme I have created for myself. Which is why I'm not out tonight.

While downtown, I was caught in a storm of bicyclists protesting cars, there must have been 500 of them, speeding down Broadway and chanting "Two wheels, not four." It was brillant. A Tour de Force of spirit. I climbed onto the bumper of a parked car and took several photos of the event with my camera phone. Some of them had boomboxes attached to their handlebars and they were blaring the Beasties. I caught a little "Ch-check it out." The Beasties never cease to amaze me by creating timeless beats.

I met up with a friend and walked around Soho for a bit, popped into an acting studio to say hi to a friend of mine starring in a new play and check out some of his friends' new photography exhibits. Hit Crate & Barrell searching for a long overdue wedding gift, but everything was too lowend for this friend. Decided to pick up a piece of couture pottery up near my apt for the couple.

I came home to receive a call from my oldest friend, she and her boyfriend got engaged. He bought her a canary diamond - my secret hope to receive someday when it's my turn. The excitement was contagious and I'm thrilled that I'll be seeing them tomorrow when I head to Philly and won't have to wait to celebrate.

That's it for now. I'm wasting time online avoiding work on this hat.

You've got to pick up every stitch, Mm, must be the season of the witch.

10:29 p.m. - 2004-04-30

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

Sullivan40
CubicleGirl
Toastress
isingsolo


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com