graceland's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Not taking any shit

I walked around upper Manhattan today, for once walking and not thinking of anything. Not even of where I was going, which explains the zigzagging effort of walking westward only to turn at the corner, walk another block over and walk east.

I stopped in the bookstore and read for a bit on the floor. Excerpts of Seamus Heany's interpretation of Beowolf, a collection by a poet named Sage, Carl Sandberg and essays by Jonathan Franzen.

My friend called last night to tell that I had been very rude to his girl. He got an earful. After my tirade he said that he sees the girl and I see things the same way. We both said the same thing about the other, except that she thanked me for showing my honesty. Apparently her friends loathe him and play fake. He suggested I do the same.

There was another earful. Play fake. How dare he?! I play fake all day long for my paycheck, I am 30 years old and have no intention of being phony in my personal life. Life's too short for me to worry about keeping the peace with people I don't care for when I'm out to have some drinks and a good time. That's not my idea of a good time.

He tried to turn it around, he even tried to change the subject when I continued hammering home point after point but I was like a dog with a bone. I feel like I have been holding my tongue for people for weeks. I have some things I want to get off my chest and my friend just opened Pandora's box. He definitely wasn't expecting what he saw inside.

I admit that I haven't been the most vibrant individual lately. I will admit that. But I'm still here and while I am here, I'm not going to lie down and let people push me into corners. Prop me up like a rag doll and place me sweetly in a corner to fulfill the story line they provide.

I was staring at the streets of NYC today from my terrace, staring down at my neighborhood and it's people. One thought ran through my mind. This is where I live. This is my home. This is my life. This. This block, this street, these people I am watching. They are my reality and I am their reality.

As long as I'm here, I'd better just do this. Finish what's been started. Get involved. Active participation.

11:26 p.m. - 2004-03-07

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

Sullivan40
CubicleGirl
Toastress
isingsolo


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com