graceland's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

New Year, New Bender

New Years in Mexico was...interesting. Nothing crazy, but a good time spent in the sun and the ocean, reading and thinking. I spent most of the time thinking about my life, who I am, who's in it, who I want in it and who I want to be.

I came back and all I wanted to do was see some friends and truly baptise the New Year.

Friday I went downtown and had my hair colored and trimmed. Started to feel like myself again, I had been feeling drab with my hair grown out and looking like ass. Friday night I took myself out, met some friends and got into it. I was on a mission to get hammered. At one point I had three drinks in front of me. And then I ordered shots. I bought a beer for a stranger because I thought he was cute.

I guess I did a pretty good job of getting into my cups because I went to bed in my bed with a friend who was sleeping over and woke up in my roommates' vacant bed downstairs, with my book in my hand and a bottle of water next to me, lights on and my friend standing in the doorway asking, "Are you okay?"

"Where am I," I asked. "And who are you?"

"It's me, A. and you are in C's bed," she told me.

"Why am I in her bed? How did I get here?" I asked.

"That's what I was wondering" she replied. "What's that in your hand?"

"What?" I lift my hand to find my book in it.

"Oh. It's the book I'm reading." I pieced it together. I threw up after I went to bed in my room and figuring I was going to be throwing up all night and not wanting to disturb my friend in bed with me, I went downstairs and took my book with me, thinking I could read until the nausea passed.

"I want to see what kind of reading you accomplished in that state," she laughed.

"God only knows," I replied.

I have a tendency to read when I come home drunk. I think that I have convinced myself that it will help me sober up. People think this is a bizarre habit. It's the only thing I think of to help pass the time as I drink water and before I lay down; I am not one of the lucky ones who can pass out. I'm a puker. Never could hold my liquor. My mother says that's a blessing. My grandparents could drink like they had hollow legs and would pass out stone cold, get up and do it again.

Unlike my kin, I spent the entire day vomiting. I would take advil and some water, and then throw that up. There's nothing worse than tossing up half dissolved aspirin. I did that three or four times until I was able to get some rest. Around 5:30PM I was able to keep some food down. It felt like my freshman year of college all over again.

The hangover was a bitch, but I'll tell you this much, it felt great to let go and tie one on with no inhibitations. I've been working and traveling for so many months now that there's been nothing like that for a long time. And every so often, I need to let it rip.

Tonight, went to a late dinner on the LES with some friends. One glass of champagne for me after dinner and then I came straight home. Back on good behavior.

2:14 a.m. - 2004-01-04

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

Sullivan40
CubicleGirl
Toastress
isingsolo


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com