graceland's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Refreshing Reminders

Been traveling for business all week. It's a whole different world traveling for this job versus the last one; it's actually humane. I didn't have to stay in a low rent motel nor cover strange cities alone like a contestant on the amazing race, in heels.

I even had a chance to meet up with an old college friend while traveling and catch up. I quickly remembered why we were such good friends. She's married and has two kids now and not a damn thing has changed. She looks exactly the same as college. She doesn't flaunt a big diamond ring, in fact, she doesn't wear that big diamond ring or wedding band. She wears a gorgeous funky piece in their place. She quickly said that meeting up after my meeting, which was around 8:30PM, was perfect because she'd feed the kids and put them to bed and meet me. Why aren't more young moms like this? My friend is out and about 5 or 6 nights of the week; AFTER she puts the kids to bed. She maintains a life. And she's a great mom; she takes them all over her city to museums and public library story hour and children's ballets.

She just wowed me like always. Just when I think I've lost all my friends to complaints about diapers and runny noses and question if I want that, I am reminded that we don't all have to be that way. We don't have to sit home and lament the loss of our lives and our identities, we can keep them and evolve with marriage and parenthood. We don't have to move to suburbs. You *can* raise good kids in cities.

Now I'm back. Despite the great travel accommodations and catch up's, it was nice to come back to my apartment. It's a mess and still inside out with unassembled furniture, but that mess is looking like home now.

7:34 p.m. - 2006-11-09

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

Sullivan40
CubicleGirl
Toastress
isingsolo


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com