graceland's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Always keep health insurance

Things are good, with some bumps along the way. Literal bumps.

On Wednesday night, I was trying to hail a taxi in the rain in center city Philly and a car trying to parallel park behind me, apparently didn't see me and bumped into me. I guess the driver thought he had bumped into the truck behind him, which I was standing in front of, because he quickly pulled forward. If he hadn't and continued back, I would have been crushed between the two cars.

He was parking, so he wasn't going very quickly. It was literally just a bump, his bumper into the backs of my knees, which caused my legs to fold a bit and me to fall back on his trunk. Lightly. No big deal. I was shaken up, but not injured. He was apologetic.

The issue, however, is that one of my knees was already weak because I've had a sprained ankle that I resprained twice in the last 6 weeks because I haven't stayed off of it due to moving. So I've been leaning on my good leg a lot, for 6 weeks. Sometimes I just stand one leg for a while. Not good.

The day after the accident, my knee was really bothering me, making it difficult to walk and I had wedge boots on, which probably wasn't good either. Long story short, I was climbing some stairs for work and my knee just gave out. The woman behind me said she saw it lock and snap backwards. All I know is I felt pain like I have never felt before. Pain like that oral surgery with the local but different. Pain so bad that I honestly couldn't identify what exactly was hurt. It shot from my knee, up the inside of my thigh to my pelvic bone and from my knee along the outside of my thigh, up to my hip joint - which actually ached from the pain. Pain from my knee, down the outside of my calf and pain up the back of my leg; my hamstring was throbbing. Since everything was emanating from the knee, I assumed it was the knee that I blew.

I sat through the meeting, pouring sweat down my face from the incredible pain for about 20 minutes. After 2 hours, my colleagues supported me around my waist and led me to a taxi to go home.

I have no insurance, so I couldn't go to a doctor. My apartment is a duplex, with the bedroom and bathroom on the entrance level; kitchen, couch and TV downstairs. It was too early to sleep, so I wanted to watch TV on the couch and ice the knee. I had to sit on my ass and inch my way down the stairs to get there. Like Lt Dan. Absurd.

Fortunately, I packed my crutches in the move. Everyone said throw them out. Boy, am I glad I didn't. They saved my life.

Friday, I was able to get to work and I contacted my old job who were super helpful and are arranging for me to be registered on COBRA stat, so I can go to a doctor. Today my knee is better, but I know I need to stay off of it and get X-Rays, so I'm hanging out at home instead of going to the rock festival and block party in my neighborhood (which is slaying me right now, on this beautiful day!) and watching movies. Thank the Lord for cable.

Beyond this inconvenience, I am still enormously happy with my desicion to move and my new job and my new neighborhood. Really loving it here in Philly. Things are great.

4:21 p.m. - 2006-10-14

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

Sullivan40
CubicleGirl
Toastress
isingsolo


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com