graceland's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Leaving NYC

Leaving NYC ended up being stressful. Even though I packed for days, I still ended up doing some last minute packing. It�s unavoidable. And you can�t see what you missed until everything is out of the apt, packed in the truck, at which point, it�s too late. U-Haul, which blows, gave my Dad the wrong sized truck � too small. So the movers *just* got everything packed and then realized the bed frame and headboard weren�t in. It also took almost two hours longer than anticipated to pack the truck and it wasn�t from slow movement. We worked like machines � an assembly line of movers and us passing boxes and luggage. Didn�t matter. It took a long time. In the end, I had to leave a small end table and standing lamp behind because there was simply no place to put it.

My Dad took off with the UHaul ahead of me and my mom, who were driving separately in the overpacked family car. He needed to get to my new apartment ASAP as the management company were staying open an extra hour as a grace to provide me with the key and let me move in on Friday night. Had we not made it, we would have had to find a place to safely store the UHaul for an extra night, reschedule movers on the Philly end (not easy at the end of the month when everyone�s moving) and find places for me and my parents to stay locally � when they had out of town plans that weekend.

So my Dad went ahead and my mom and I stayed and raced around the apt bagging as much trash and leftover items as possible and taking them to the garbage area. Finally, my mom noted that we were now too far behind my Dad and had to leave NYC in order to not leave him stranded with the truck on the other end.

As I took one last look at my room, I started to get nostalgic and cry. I hurried to leave and get out of this place that hosted almost a decade of my life. My mom asked me to drive and I nearly crashed my way out of the city to keep it together and propel myself forward into my new life.

*~*
So I moved to my new apartment on Friday, Sept 29th. The apartment is fantastic with some glitches. I don�t have a bureau nor the bed I want, so I�m kinda stuck mostly unpacked until I get a dresser and with a temporary bed. I�m one of those people who wants everything to be perfect at once, so these factors are frustrating.

I also don�t have hot water in my apartment, because it�s a new building that�s still under construction. Although they promised it would be ready, it�s not. Everything else is livable, although they have some more work to do. So every morning, I have to travel down a long corridor to the model apartment to shower. It feels like college but I guess it could be worse.

The building fire alarms go off every night in the wee hours of the morning and because very few people have moved in, they sound off for hours. It�s tiring.

That said, I love living alone and I love my neighborhood. I am very far from anyone I know in this city and this area is foreign to me. Those factors make me feel like I just moved to another area of NYC. When I go visit people I know, I feel like I am visiting the city still. It�s weird.

I like my new job, I think it�s very interesting and I think it�s going to be tough.

Waiting for wifi and cable have been annoying. I�ll be glad to be set up and settled in.

I think I may be the happiest I have been in years. I am absolutely thrilled to be here, no regrets about the job or moving.

12:03 a.m. - 2006-10-09

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

Sullivan40
CubicleGirl
Toastress
isingsolo


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com