graceland's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

No good deed goes unpunished

So I baked cookies for the good samaritan with my wallet, because majority opinion voted that I was insane to provide cash to this person who potentionally may have stolen the cash in my wallet. I met him at 7:45am, as planned, on the street corner and retrieved my wallet. I gave him the cookies and I may be mistaken, but I think this 50-something firefighter-ish guy may have rolled his eyes at me for the cookies.

I think he did.

I walked back to my office, sat down in my seat and looked down, to notice that the sole of the heel of my boots had come off - nails upright and all.

So I walked around for the rest of the day with a hollow heel.
*~*
The following day, Thursday, I was running late for a morning training session, ran out of my apartment bogged down with a loaded, giant work bag, to find the elevator in my building broken.

I began the trek downstairs. Around the 7th floor, I made the mistake of noticing a young mom in my building who I frequently chat with. She has a baby and another child that looks about 20 months.

I opened the door and saw she had the baby stroller out with her toddler in it and the baby in the bjorn attached to her. "Uh oh," I said, "What are you going to do? Do you want me to carry the stroller down?"

She said she was going to abandon the stroller. I asked her if I could help with something and she said I could lift the toddler out of the stroller. I lifted him out and set him down on his feet - I could barely see his little face, he was all bundled up in his snowsuit.

She said they were just going to walk down, and said they'd follow us. She told the toddler to follow me, as I would lead the way down the steep cement stairs and he barely inched forward. I could see this was going to be a long, arduous process and I was already late, but now I was locked in to helping so I said, "You know, why don't I just carry him?"

So I have a 15lb work bag, a long coat I'm trying not to trip over and now, I'm carrying a worming toddler who decides to talk this opportunity to become the human airplane. I'm sure you are familiar...body horizontal to the floor, arms out. And to keep the kid happy and not scared of me, a relative stranger, we have him signing his favorite song. Happy Birthday. To himself.

I looked at his mom. "Is it his birthday?"

"Nope," she said. "But he loves his birthday."

If I hadn't been so focused on holding the human airplane and balancing so I didn't fall down the stairs, I would have howled with laughter.

We finally made it to the lobby and I was out of breath, but as the Mommy pointed out, I not only got my work out for the day, I also did my good deed.

And of course, no good deed goes unpunished.

6:53 p.m. - 2006-02-10

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

Sullivan40
CubicleGirl
Toastress
isingsolo


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com