graceland's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Effing Suckuary

It's almost like this shitty month of Suckuary comes out of the gate looking to eff me.
*~*
Last night, I left work on time, went to the bank, withdrew $300 and met with some old friends for drinks.

While, I hit the bot (a lovely Pino Noir, Sonoma), one friend detailed how her BF of 6 years has essentially vanished and I chalked that up to "Suckuary." If you've been reading me for a long time, you will recall previous rants about this short but purely evil month during which, only bad things happen.

I detailed this theory for my friends and they asked me, what's so bad that's happened to me during this month? I explained, the last two (or it is three?) years, I've gotten the heisman from dudes I was hanging with up until this dreaded, dark month.

My friend pointed out that since I'm not dating anyone this year, I'm free of the curse.

"Hey!" I brightened at the thought. "Maybe you guys are right!"

I had a lovely buzz as I left the bar, until at my stop, the taxi driver locked the doors and looked at me through the rear view mirror of the car while twirling a blowpop in the small open air window separating us. "Like a pop," he asked. "...to suck on."

I stared right back in his freak flagged eyes, and said "nope" as I unlocked my door and ran out of the cab.
~*~
This morning I had to be at work early, so as usual, I took a taxi to work and shortly after 7:40am, I took out my wallet and paid the taxi. I remember pulling out my wallet because I was searching for a $10 instead of a $20.

The light we were standing at was changing, so I grabbed my change, shoved it in my coat pocket, shoved my wallet in my open handbag and leapt across the street and to the sidewalk. I walked fast to the corner, like I always do, and waited with some people on the corner for the light to change.

I walked across the street and bought my coffee and a diet snapple. I paid for it with the money out of the taxi change in my coat pocket, rather than rifle through my purse for my wallet.

I walked two doorways from the deli with my coffee to my office building. In my office building, I said "Good Morning" to the doorman and proceeded to ride the elevator solo to my floor. I manually entered the code into my office, walked the corridors, turning on the lights to the offices one-by-one as I walked up the dark halls.

I was early.

I did my work until my early morning meeting. I attended the meeting.

Post-meeting, around 9:40am, I returned to my desk and began to check voicemail and e-mail. I skipped over a coworker's old message - we had already spoken about it's content. I listened to the second message.

A rough voice, with an unpolished New York accent barked out of my phone. "Hey...Grace, this is P. It's 9:11. I found something of yours on top of my car this morning. I found your license, your medical card, your metrocard, your atm card...and a few other things. I'm going to go to the gym now for 2 hours. I'll call you when I get back, around 11 or 11:30." Click.

What at first I thought was some sort of prank call started to freak me out. Panic set in. Who is this man? Why is he calling me? How did he get my stuff???"

I began to scramble around my office, ripping apart everything trying to find my wallet. Frantically asking people around me if they saw my wallet. People stared as I raced, freaking out.

It set in and I began to pace my office. Nnnnoooooooooooo. This is not happening I thought as covered my face with my hands.

I had been pinched. Some douchebag pickpocketed me. Is that same douchebag calling me with the remains? After he cleared out the $200 in cash that I had in there.

Or no. He didn't say he has the wallet. He says he has *some* of the contents.

I sit and wait for two hours for him to call, since he left no last name and no phone number.

...to be continued...

9:29 p.m. - 2006-02-07

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

Sullivan40
CubicleGirl
Toastress
isingsolo


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com