graceland's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Blogging is the New Gap

Is it me, or is Blogging the new Gap? Every mainstream, corporate leech I speak with wants to know if I have a blog, where am I blogging and what do I know about blogging.

My standard answer is a simple no and a small smile. This journal is anonymous and the reason I'm here is because my last journal became some sort of insane, unwieldly online destination that was completely out of control. It became a monster.

The explosion of blogging is good and bad. I guess the growth and attention will advance the area but in the meantime, it's really hard to narrow in on the people worth reading versus the unwashed masses who have just found their way on the world wide web.

I don't know if I'm a purist or and idiot, but I'm just not down with blogging as a revenue generator. Like it makes me throw up in my mouth a little to see these vapid chick lit wannabe's who are playing Carrie Bradshaw online to get a book deal. Suddenly, posting online 6 times a day validates these My Pretty Pony collectors into some sort of genre. They are somehow being validated and getting paid for uploading mental diarrhea as they order their venti skim lattes.

I can only shake my head. Is this what we've come to?

And there is the James Frey issue. I hadn't read a Million Little Pieces because I run from anything with an Oprah Book Club sticker, but after her self-righteous, egomanical, public tirade on the poor guy, I went out and bought his book. It's a STORY, for crying outloud. Did you believe everything that Hunter Thompson wrote? And you didn't think that any of that was a STRETCH of his imagination? That while maybe 80% of it were true, 20% was NOT? Nobody writes the whole truth, for crying outloud. That's what makes GOOD stories - that embellishment of the writer. Finding out that some of the piece of the book and the characters were fabricated - did that change the entertainment value of the story? If it did, I recommend the reader seriously think about reselling the book online for reimbursement, taking that change, and buying a life.

I have no time for people who judge, and watching Oprah judge like that on TV left a very bad taste in my mouth. A taste of excrement, also known as Oprah's bullshit.

If as she claims, this story is about redemption, then perhaps she should read the book again because from what I saw last week - she's got a whole lot of personal salvation she should pursue in the near future.

11:32 p.m. - 2006-01-29

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

Sullivan40
CubicleGirl
Toastress
isingsolo


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com