graceland's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Pulling out a mediocre appearance

I went out again tonight, however, I just couldn't get it going. I gave it my best shot. I went to work this morning unshowered and then went out tonight immediately after work, so feeling like a filthy animal definitely set me back. Because of the heavy fog today, my hair looked like I just played the finals at the US Open. Gross.

I perceivered (sp?) through the evening and finally I realized that I felt better and was having fun, however, I was borderline drunk. I rarely let myself get shithoused drunk, because I can't hold my liquor and there's no in between buzzed and vomitous for me. I'm either buzzed or vomiting. No passing out for moi. So I ordered another drink after going to the bathroom and the moment it arrived, I realized both 1)I had ordered the wrong drink - not what I drink, and 2) if I drank that drink I would be over the line. So I ordered a water and drank that.

I was able to convince my companions for the evening - one an alcoholic (his own description, not mine) gay, former client working abroad and in town for the night, the other a gay coworker I coerced into going out for drinks to wingman me, that we should close out our tab and relocate. Once outside, the coworker and I agreed we should end the night - it was semi-respectable, almost 1am - but when the former client came out, I could see it was going to be a problem to end the evening at that time so I blurted, "I have to go, I've overdone it" and I ran into traffic, like Frogger, through Hudson or 10th Avenue or some avenue in the West Village/Chelsea that I had dragged everyone, and jumped into a taxi heading for home. I haven't done that in years! It felt great and I heard people I know and some I didn't exclaim on the sidewalk behind me as I darted. I could imagine their shocked and bemused expressions.

It was time for me to go. And they were drunk/buzzed enough to start cruising the boy bars. They'll be fine.

So I'm home safe and sound. Drinking water. I'm just not the badass I used to be. I think that's a good thing although many people wish they had met her.

1:29 a.m. - 2006-01-14

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

Sullivan40
CubicleGirl
Toastress
isingsolo


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com