graceland's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Night out with old friends

I really should go out with friends more, life becomes so much more interesting! I hadn't realized how much I work, until I was out with friends tonight.

My one friend dates the most fucked up guys. I think she does that on purpose. She dates these dudes that I wouldn't go near with a 10-foot pole and I'll tell you, she can make it work. The current guy is a former drug dealer, and I'm not talking dimebags. The dude was moving drugs. Big operation. When they started dating he had to leave the country and go on the lam, at which point he was a fugitive of the law. International fugitive. And she would schedule her vacations from work to go meet him all around the world to spend time with him. She has a real career, BTW. Not a hourly wage job. She has a high profile, high stress career so the fact that her vacation was secretly heading off to hole up in some shack in a remote part of Thailand with a fugitive and sleep under mosquito netting always cracked me up. I would take her calls and whisper all of the various legal ramifications for both US and International law that they were breaking while she ignored me and regaled the great trips they were taking.

That went on a for a year or so, I guess until his money ran out and he decided to get out of the drug business. He ended up surrendering to the US and doing time, getting out and completed his probation. He works a regular job and everything now.

Or so we think.

Because they were supposed to leave for vacation this weekend and he started saying that he was having financial problems last night and didn't think he could go anywhere and when she got to work this morning she got a message he left at the crack of dawn from the airport saying that he had to head of town for a few days.

Awesome. So she's pissed because he left with no explanation, as if he's traveling for business, and I'm explaining that clearly the dude owes someone some money and they have told him exactly how he can pay it back. And she says, he should have invited her. I said, who the eff are you - Patricia Arquette? Be glad you aren't getting your face bashed in at a motel 6. Sayonara to that dude already. She should be glad he's gone.

Our other friend read my cards after dinner. Apparently I work too much and have been holed up with a broken heart, but I've got some love coming my way. I'll believe it when I see it.

After dinner we headed uptown to my local and had a drink. I've been there maybe twice in 2 months, so there was a lot of hoopla from the locals. One guy carried my handbag for me and excorted me in. He was tweaked and spent the next 20 minutes telling me and my friend how I am the best dresser he knows, while feeling my suede heels (they *are* hot shoes) and raving about my shoes while noting that he isn't gay, but my shoes are hot.

It was great to get the attention, but after a big dinner and red wine, we were spent. And now I'm home.

I really need to get out more. I feel like I almost have a life again right now. I forgot what it's like to go out!

10:51 p.m. - 2006-01-12

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

Sullivan40
CubicleGirl
Toastress
isingsolo


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com