graceland's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Bitter Christmas Betty

Well, I don't know about anyone else, but I was up late last night praying for a strike. It's like an adult snowday.

I ended up walking to work, it wasn't too bad. A little over two miles; I had walked home the night before for exercise. People thought I was insane, of course. Most people in the 2+m range worked from home, but I like an adventure. I like strife.

The day turned around from there. Weeks ago, I had told my roommate I'd be a chapter leader with her for this charity I volunteer with and she had just joined - this was her first event. Wrapping gifts for a group foster home.

Long story short, my roommate bailed on the event, leaving me holding the bag because she didn't inform me and the nonprofit head called me to check that I was still in and me not knowing she was out - said yes.

The truth is that I didn't want to do this event, but since this was her first event and a charity, I figured I'd pull it out and make the most of it. I also thought it'd be cancelled because of the strike. No such luck. Every volunteer bailed except for 1. One gd person had to be the good guy and stick in there and therefore, I ended up walking after work, another 2 miles in the opposite direction from where I lived, to lead this wrapping party.

I tried not to wish ill will on my roommate; I'm not that kind of person. I really believe that karma finds its way to the violator and evens out the tally. Bad thoughts about her would enter my head as I walked in the cold and I kept pushing them out, knowing it was wrong and that I didn't mean it.

That was, until about 2.5 hours into the event, when my long day sank in, my eyes bleary from working all day, staring at patterned wrapping paper and still being sick. I was surrounded by piles and piles of gifts to be wrapped, with 3 of us doing all of the work and me - being the chapter leader, cheerfully chirping comments and questions about various gifts, current events and pop culture to keep things lively. It suddenly occurred to me that cursing my roommate with a barron, loveless life spent toiling over meaningless manual labor was *exactly* what I wished for. That, was my holiday wish. I thought about wishing her imminent demise, but that would be too kind, to allow her die. Hell, I'd probably have to do all the work burying her and sorting through her estate, e.g. our apartment. I began to think of various scenario's of terrible loveless, lonely lives that might fit her punishment. And that made me feel somewhat better. During my walk home, another 4 miles - I did catch a taxi for most of it - the feeling started to fade. Why punish her? She's living in a prison of her own creation already. Why waste my Christmas wish on her?

I finally felt calm about it as I limped into my apartment building, one heel very much feeling like there may be a crack in the bone. Until then I walked in and smelled the brownies and saw the bags of gifts. Did I forget to mention that she called me during the event and said "I know you hate me, but what was that book you told me about?" She wanted to buy the book as a gift for her trainer. Bold. She's got balls.

I haven't bought a single gift because I've been so sick the last few weeks. I really needed tonight to pick up some items for my team at work.

So I arrived home to find that my roommate had gone shopping, bought bags of gifts and whipped up some brownies as another gift for someone else.

I felt loathing on a scale that I can't recall in some time and suddenly I thought, karma can't hit fast enough.

But you know what the effed up part of this story is? My roommate is the kind of person who doesn't really get hit with karma.

And that's why I'm going to have to spend Christmas wishing a barron, loveless, existence on her dissipating soul. Coal in her stocking just isn't enough, right now I think Santa and his elves should stone her with it.

I'm going to bed now, since I have to walk to work again tomorrow and run out during my lunch hour to buy 7 gifts tomorrow. Effing A.

I hope she gets a rash on her hands from those shopping bags.

I am very very angry.

9:41 p.m. - 2005-12-20

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

Sullivan40
CubicleGirl
Toastress
isingsolo


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com