graceland's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Life is Good, Happy Holidays

I had a terrible time at a Christmas party tonight, which is why I am writing in my journal now instead of being out and about. I slept all day and didn't want to go when I finally got up; I really should have known and called myself out completely.

But, my roommate was going and my best friend who is living with us for a few weeks, and some of my college friends were attending since it was at the apt of two of our Waco-college boys, so I went.

You couldn't even get through the apt without stepping up on the couch and walking the length of it to get to the other side. That's kinda annoying. Our friends who are married and made it were completely hammered by the time we got there, because they never get out anymore and have no concept of drinking or pacing. They are college freshman all over again. That doesn't bother me. I live in New York City, I deal with drunken idiots every day, sometimes I'm one of them. I just wasn't in the mood to be crushed and jostled by the rest of the people there who were complete strangers - people my friends work with, friends of friends, you know the drill. So I bailed.

I was supposed to go to another party after that, at the apt of a coworker, but she's about 24 and lives in a self-styled commune with other 23 and 24 year olds. I thought about myself at 24 and the filthy (and magnificently fun) parties we had at that age that were wall-to-wall drunken/drugged morons and I decided to forgo the sequel to House Party. I have no patience (and I no longer get drunk enough) to endure that kind of clusterf*ck.

One of the guys that ran in my circle at college reintroduced himself to me tonight - that was weird. We've only been out of college 10 years and we hung out at the reunion 6 months ago. Not to mention we run into each other every so often, or our names come up through mutual friends. He caught me in a rush and he said hi, I guess I must have given him the brush off as I was trying to houdini from the party and he took it as nonrecognition.

Before that, this other guy that I kissed Freshman year and really never hung out with again - beyond the peripheral since our groups of friends comingled - seemed completely hammered and came up to say hi to me and ended up standing there silently listening to the conversation and staring at my profile. With this goofy smile. Very weird. Must have just been drunk. He was swaying....and his wife wasn't there - maybe he doesn't get out much.

So I'm home. I may go to the bar next door and say hi. Or I may go to bed.

Now that I think of it, the holiday bender just didn't happen for me this year. And I'm not complaining. I never ever thought I'd say this, but it's kinda nice to slow down. I never realized how fast my life was, probably because I never had a minute to stop and think about it.

I'm happy with this pace. I have a few things to fix within me, but who doesn't? Life is good.

12:52 a.m. - 2005-12-11

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

Sullivan40
CubicleGirl
Toastress
isingsolo


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com