graceland's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Working on something big

My cousin pointed out something interesting this week - just when I get ready to bail on my job, they come up with an exciting promotion or new thing to reel me back in.

Last week I went on this amazing interview, just general interest with a recruiting firm that I liked, and within 24 hours the President of my company gave me a new title and a new practice to head up/develop.

It's almost like they have me wired, with the exception that they just aren't that advanced.

I was given an enormous task and an enormous opportunity. I worked my ass off. I'm talking working until 2am and then up at 5am, working again. I like challenges - particularly when they match my personal interests and curiosity; this assignment did that.

It was hard but at the end, when I finally nailed the presentation and the content, the President of my company looked up at me, stood up at her desk and extended her hand to shake mine. She said something along the lines of: I don't know what you've done here but I can tell you do, and I can see it's leading to something big. Congratulations. How does it feel?

I breathed a big sigh of relief and I said, this was one of the biggest challenges of my life and I am running on pure adrenaline at this point. I feel confident and I feel psyched.

So I presented it today to a bigshot that I would normally never get to see in a crowded room. The bigshot listened to every word and asked me questions and at the end said to me, I employ a hundreds of people who consider themselves experts in this area. I have been educated by many of them and I can honestly say that not only did you teach me a lot on this, but also if I put you in front of every one of those people, there wouldn't be a single one of them who didn't learn something from you. Thank you.

And then he invited me to present to his company. In offices all over the country. They want me to present my work and my recommendations to high level exec's with MBA's.

Ha! MBA's!

So now I really have a lot of work to do. The presentation I created was just a thumbnail sketch. I have to emmerse myself and produce something academic and just short of brilliant.

I can do it, but it's going to take weeks of focus and work. Total dedication.

I welcome the opportunity. I just want to do something great again. To be smart again. It's been so long since I had a chance to excel.

So if you don't hear from me on here for a bit, I'm just buried. In a good way:)

8:18 p.m. - 2005-12-09

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

Sullivan40
CubicleGirl
Toastress
isingsolo


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com