graceland's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Going Estromental

It's that time of the month and this one is like a tsunami of estrogen. My system is on overdrive. I'm crying over blades of grass shooting up in the cracks of the pavement. It's alarming. It's very alarming for a woman who frequently gets accused by close friends of being void of emotion. I'm a pragmatist. Right now I'm a weeping one.

Reading today about the 10-year-old NOLA Trumpeter flown in to Grand Marshall our Village Halloween Parade tonight, really broke me. There I am crying over the beauty of giving this child a wonderful chance of remembering something beautiful to come out of this gd tragedy in LA (and Miss and AL!) - on the Phoenix float that NYer's created for NY on Halloween '01, as we vowed to ourselves that we would rise out of our own ashes, stronger and more beautiful than before.

I had barely wiped my face dry when my cousin relayed to me a sexist comment that her boss had made to her, "Why can't you women be more regular?" and I went all John Gotti on her.

"What?!?! Why can't we be more regular?!? Is that a reference to bleeding every month while being lit up with hormones? I want to you take a sioled tampon and leave it in his top drawer. So he understands. I want him to UNDERSTAND, do you hear me?"

"No. You know what, collect used tampons and make a mobile and hang it above his desk. That he'll understand."

My cousin tried to calm me down, but it was no use. I went on a tear.

"Why can't we be more regular? Well let me tell you? It's hard to be more 'regular' when I'm smarter than 75% of the the male sex, I work longer hours and I make 75 cents on every dollar he makes. I watch his sex climb past me on work I've done, because he has a cock. On top of that, I'm losing out on peak earning years to stop my life and give birth to more of his sex. But I don't get paid for that work either. I just sit out the game for 10 months while he goes about business as usual and hits happy hour every night. I bring life into the world, growing within my BODY, as my organs are pushed and shoved out of the way into unnatural positions and I then actually tear my own flesh to give this person a life. I don't get a medal for this. I don't get a bonus. I get a second job. And that's another full time job."

"So excuse me for not being 'regular.' Maybe we should adopt the practices of China and flip it so we drown the male babies in burlap sacks like unwanted kittens until the tables are turned, women are the ruling majority and the definition of 'regular' is righted??!?"

"He's lucky he has the right cousin there today, cuz. Because if I were there, I'd slap him right upside his head for that remark. Now I'm pissed off"

And then she told me that she controls payroll and reminded him how easy it would be to lose his paycheck. Apparently he straightened right up. No more talk of 'regular.'

That dude is so f-ing lucky he didn't catch me today. I would have opened a can of Lorena Bobbitt whoopass on his butt.

Happy Halloween. Scared yet?

9:36 p.m. - 2005-10-31

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

Sullivan40
CubicleGirl
Toastress
isingsolo


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com