graceland's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

A whole lotta nothing

Things are going well. I've been clean all week, so that's good. I plan on being clean this weekend. I plan on being clean next week. Beyond that, we'll work it out when I get there.

I was talking to a friend who pointed out I better not get all 12-step talk on her and I want to state for the record, I've promised myself that I won't start talking like a 12-stepper. Not that there's anything wrong with that! It's just that 12-steppers can lean toward the preachy and not everyone has a drug problem.

When I quit smoking (6-months ago this week!), my addiction counselor gave me a strong warning not to become one of those miltant, righteous non-smokers. He advised that I think back on how I felt about them as a smoker and be mindful of how fucking annoying those people were and how their actions simply provoked me to smoke more. I plan on remembering that during the time ahead.

I think there are some amazing lessons to be shared about recovery, but they should primarily stay in recovery or the confines of my memory as I advance my life and not recited from a soapbox.

So if I get preachy IRL, tap me on the shoulder, 'k?

Beyond that, I'm busy at work and heading out of town to another wedding this weekend. After that, I'm back in the Jack until Thanksgiving. Thank fucking God.

Oh man, I just remembered the holiday bender. My favorite time of year. God damn! No drugs this year. That kinda sucks. Que sera, sera.

10:13 p.m. - 2005-10-19

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

Sullivan40
CubicleGirl
Toastress
isingsolo


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com