graceland's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

My Dad is the man

I received the most beautiful note from my father on engraved stationary today. It was on the same stock, design and colors as he gifted me last Christmas, the only difference being the engraved first name at the top. It made me laugh that he had bought the same exact scheme and color for himself as me and then I was touched; he bought ours identical because we are so alike.

The card read, in his perfectly scripted cursive penmanship:
" Grace:
One of the nicest days I had this summer was the day you came to visit and we "hung-out." We should do that more often without the surgical pre-requisite.

Love ya,
Dad"

Wow. That blew me away. He and I have a silent understanding that we are compadres. We are brethren. We are best friends.

Seeing it there on paper, both reminded me of our mortalities and how enormously blessed I have been to have this Father so this long.

I love that man with everything I've got. He's inspired me for as long as I can remember and he continues to raise the bar daily.

9:36 p.m. - 2005-10-13

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

Sullivan40
CubicleGirl
Toastress
isingsolo


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com