graceland's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Writer's block

I'm in a creative draught. I've *been* in a creative draught for months now. That's part of the reason that my updates have been so inconsistent. Every few years this happens to me but of course I'm worried about *this time* - like maybe it's permanent? I listen to something, like the new White Stripes album, and I feel both excitement that someone out there has tapped their genius - they're doing it - and I get depressed because I know I have something inside that I need to tap and share but I can't capture it. It makes me feel like giving up.

I guess that's part of the reason I'm ready to move. I feel like I need to invite change to get out of this rut.

I used to write every day. Sometimes several times a day. I wrote about feelings and friendships and my opinions about things I knew nothing about. Sometimes I reported newsworthy events that I experienced firsthand. Now I write shit.

My entries are inconsistent and it's not necessarily me being busy or not near a computer. A few times I've logged in and sat here staring at an empty new entry screen.

Maybe fall will snap me out of it. Fall always was my favorite season. I need to adapt some of my work to a book format. I need an outline and structure and to decide which characters to hone in on. I just haven't had any desire to do it.

Maybe I new computer would do it, rather than this ancient machine? I think it may be windows '95 or '98 on this thing. No joke, it doesn't even support iTunes. And nothing's loaded on it but what it came with. Notepad? Yeah. No Word.

Maybe I should just upgrade this mean machine. I don't know. Anyway, I am here. I just can't find anything to write about.

2:08 a.m. - 2005-08-29

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

Sullivan40
CubicleGirl
Toastress
isingsolo


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com