graceland's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Starsky and crutch

So I'm back for a New York minute. Things have been insane, to say the least. I've been in a cast and on crutches, which ain't no party to get around in this town.

It was exhausting. Just getting out bed and showering was a daily feat; I have a renewed respect for the handicapped. Usually when I got home, I just wanted to lay on my couch for a few hours before I approached the stair challenge in my duplex, to get to bed.

I went out once during that time, to a friend's going away party. That was the night after the second "Spiderman rapist" attack in my neighborhood. The place was crawling with cops both uniformed and undercover and not one of them warned us that this creep was on the loose, nor made an effort to see me home in a cast on crutches and tipsy at 3am. A night or two later they caught the main suspect on a stoop on my block. I have a lovely image of myself as the perfect target, hobbling along, as the police stare at their shoes.

There hasn't been much sleep on my end because of this sex offender. My bedroom has a balcony and sliding glass doors; it's like an engraved invitation for this freakshow. At one point I tried sleeping with my lights on, then thought that would help him see his way in, so the next night I booby trapped my room and so on and so forth. That week was like my own personal re-enactment of "Home Alone."

Now I'm off the crutches and wearing a flexible brace. Things are looking up! My fourth of July weekend was pretty spectacular; my best friend and I bought boogie boards and spent most of our beach time shredding waves and running over bewildered 9-year olds on our boards. It was a great time.

I'm off on vacation next week and I can't wait. Sucks that my ankle is still busted because the lack of working out is just packing on lbs, but I'm hoping I can sub some biking and swimming into my daily regime on vacation and kickstart my metabolism.

That's about it for now. I leave Friday and will be gone for 10 days; will try to update again before then.

10:03 p.m. - 2005-07-06

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

Sullivan40
CubicleGirl
Toastress
isingsolo


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com