graceland's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Finally, some sunshine coming my way

So I went to Philly for a party this weekend and I don't even know what happened. It was all a blur. I brought a blizzard of trouble with me and swept everyone up in it. I think we disgusted more than a handful of people. We partied into the next day.

I crashed and slept a few hours, maybe three, and then I got up and hung out with my friends. My hosts couldn't even get out of bed. The Illedelph isn't conditioned to the NYC insanity. My phone was blowing up on Sunday with calls from my new peeps in NYC. "Meet us at 3PM, Grace" at a bar where our friend bartends. "I'm in the Illedelph, people" I tried to explain. They wouldn't hear it.

So I changed, didn't shower, jumped on a train and headed back. I smelled to high heaven of booze, or so my friend told me but we weren't sure if it was her or me. My phone kept ringing and ringing. I jumped into a taxi outside of Penn station and started to head home, but my phone started to blow up again until I said, "WTF" to myself, rerouted the taxi and showed up at the bar my friends were at.

I came running through traffic, unshowered and with my luggage and there they were sitting al fresco in sidewalk seating in a group of about 15. All of whom, collectively saw me and screamed "Grace!" The packed restaurant turned to stare at me. One of the guys helped lift me and my luggage over a planter and he swung me around in his arms in the tiny cramped area between tables, "You're here! I can't believe it!"

"Don't get too close. I've been up all night, haven't showered, jumped on a train and came right here." I laughed.

"You smell like roses to me, Grace" he said. "I'm so glad to see your face, beautiful." I looked around and smiled.

And so it was that I had a margerita, sat outside, laughed and ate with my friends thinking to myself, Thank Christ for these people, this life and Spring.

It's been a long fucking winter and I sure as hell could use some sunshine.

9:26 p.m. - 2005-04-12

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

Sullivan40
CubicleGirl
Toastress
isingsolo


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com