graceland's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Ciao Papa

I was surprised at how the death of the Pontiff touched me. I'm very much in disagreement with many of his policies over the last 20-some years, yet, he was a remarkable man with many great feats. His story is inspiring to me, to say the least, aspirational at that, and I found myself teary eyed more than once this weekend, while watching the nonstop coverage of his death.

The Pope and I share a birthday and that made me think a bit more, about two people born under the same sign, one who made so much more of his time on earth than I have. His death made me realize that there is much more I could be doing on this earth, much more that I should be doing.

I love the cloak and dagger of the Vatican. If I were President of the United States, the first trip I'd make is to meet the Pope. After all, regardless of whether you agree the church, the reality is that the Pope is the most powerful man in the world. He is the leader of more than 1.1 billion people, spanning country lines and continents. The Church's history makes America look like a toddler in comparision. That I also find fascinating.

I look forward to watching this papal election among this collection of 117 (and possibly 118, should his letter naming a new cardinal be revealed) dinosaurs.

Until then, I will join the rest of the world in saying, "Ciao Papa." May you finally rest in peace, with the moral weight of the world no longer on your stooped and shaking shoulders.

I may not have the faith he had, but I truly hope there is a heaven after all because he certainly deserves that reward of rejoicing in God's eternal kingdom.

"Ciao Papa."

9:54 p.m. - 2005-04-04

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

Sullivan40
CubicleGirl
Toastress
isingsolo


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com