graceland's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

America's Favorite Stand-In

I'm back after a very relaxing 10 day vacation. I dreaded coming back. Whenever I leave NYC, I see how much I loathe it. When I'm here, it's business as usual. It's what I know. I've lived in Manhattan for 9 years.

My roommates' bf has been living with us for about 2 months, maybe longer. I thought that was trying and I learned to get used to it. Now her mom is here for the week.

Her mom is being treated her for Stage 1 breast cancer, so frankly, I can't complain to anyone about her staying her. Frankly, I'm happy she's here to stay. That said, it's weird, to come home to someone else's mom who has made a turkey dinner. So the mom, my roommates bf and I all ate dinner together and my roommate went to the US Open tonight with the ticket I turned down. What's wrong with this picture? My roommate never ceases to amaze me. However, rather than judge her, I took into consideration that maybe she's having a hard time dealing with her Mom's cancer and her way of dealing is not dealing at all? Maybe she needed to get out and go to the Open? People cope in different ways.

On top of that, she has her mom on the couch. I was appalled by that, I mean, she's going to have surgery this week! So I pushed for her to use the air mattress in the spare room for her mom. I mean, really. At least it's a bed in a room with a door to close.

I should have given up my bed, but I'm selfish. I want to sleep in my bed. And now I feel giant guilt for it. I should give her my bed but honestly, my roommate should give her mom *her* bed! I try to keep reminding myself of that. I work up here, my computer is up here and I write at night. Also, I paint up here. It's kinda like a self contained studio.

I took off tomorrow to go to the Open. Hopefully it won't be rained out.

I guess that's it for now, maybe I'll be in the mood to write more tomorrow.

9:22 p.m. - 2004-09-07

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

Sullivan40
CubicleGirl
Toastress
isingsolo


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com