graceland's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

I just noticed I have pen on my arm

Working to lose weight is hard. I keep remembering something my mom said to me once, "You didn't put it on overnight, so it's not going to come off overnight."

I would like to lose 20 lbs in 10 weeks. I think that's fair. Especially because it's summertime and I am so active. The key is not to drink. I'm down to 1-2 nights a week drinking, 5 or 6 drinks a night. No beer.

I'm also working hard to vary my workouts so that I work out hard, but don't get bored. I'd like to have someone to walk with afterwork. I'm thinking about posting a sign in my neighborhood to find someone. When I walk with someone, I walk faster and longer. I can do more than 5 miles a night.

I've lost about 10 pounds since I started about a month ago, so I guess that's decent. I know I can do better. I want to do better.

My friend Toastgirl taught me a trick with running last weekend. She recommended that I do the joggers shuffle rather than actually run. I was struggling maintaining my stride for a mile and beyond because I was running too hard. I tried the shuffle tonight and sure enough there I was at a mile, then another one. Excellent trick.

I hate that I work such long hours. I need more time to work out. My workouts run at least an hour and half and I find that if I work out at night, I'm restless and then when my alarm goes off early, I struggle to get out of bed. It sucks.

I also think my toenail is close to falling off. I have to tape it before I go to work out. That seems to be helping.

I'm not looking to be a size 2, or even a 4 or 6 for that matter. I want to be strong. Strong and fit. I want my body to be a tuned muscle. Like Gabrielle Reese. That's the goal. Not lean, strong. I vary with weights and pilates to build endurance and strength. I can't wait to start swimming again. Swimming the ocean is a great test of strength and endurance. Maybe if I get up the courage, I'll enter one of the swimming races at the beach this summer. My fear of sharks prevents me from doing it.

Other things are good. I have a job lead that's interesting.

My drycleaner stopped me on the street this morning to compliment me on my sense of style. I walked past the intern cubes at work today and saw that some them have a photo of me as their screensavers; that made me laugh.

Things aren't bad. Not bad at all.

10:54 p.m. - 2004-06-16

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

Sullivan40
CubicleGirl
Toastress
isingsolo


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com