graceland's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Finding Pleasure in the Simple Things

Last entry was a bit dramatic for my tastes. Clearly I was overtired when I wrote it.

I had a stellar weekend for no reason in particular. I sat on the beach in a windstorm with some friends on Saturday. Sunday I spent with my friends and 2 six year olds, 1 three year old and a two and a half year old, chalking the sidewalks, pretending to jump inside pink chalk houses and to eat chalk apples that were offered, teaching them how to blow plastic bubbles from straws. We ate pop rocks (I scared everyone by drinking soda with them) and I bought everyone ice cream, including big kids like my roommate and his housemate who had no money on them when I spotted the ice cream man pedaling down the street and said, "Hey, you're going to come over here..."

To say I had a great time wouldn't capture it. My cousin pointed out that I am like a big 7 year old and I'd have to agree. I love kids. I love a whole block of screaming, playing and laughing kids and that's pretty much what we had on Saturday. Chalk butt kids with ice cream and popsicles all over their t-shirts and down their legs. Made me happy.

It also made me tired. I could barely keep my eyes open that night, partially because the night before I was stuck wingmanning it for my friend that I have hooked up with my brother. They were PDAing all over the bar and I had to keep his retarded friends at bay from cockblocking. That was a full time job.

I could barely keep up with the boys' drinking; I'd be halfway thru a beer and one them would be handing me another one. I rarely drink beer anymore and I don't drink like that either. Yikes. By the end of the night Friday, I succombed to the insanity and threw down a car bomb with the rest of them. I could barely stand after that but of course I had to because I was stuck with the boys and they can never, ever, leave before last call. We were the last group in the parking lot by the time we got a taxi. I directed the taxi to drop me off at home, my job as wingman over as the happy couple deserted us hours before. I was happy to acknowledge defeat to the boys. I'm not that tough.

BBQ Saturday night. Beat from playing with the kids. Laughed so hard at the friend's storytelling of our youth that I thought I was going to pass out from lack of air. The police showed up just as my friend was at the point of a story where she has to stand up and bend over and grab her ankles. That was it.

Left early and Monday was spent walking around in the rain. Took almost 5 hours to get home because of a major accident on the Parkway.

As for the other stuff going on in my life, that all will work iteself out, right? Life has a way of righting itself. And really, I'm just tired of talking about that kind of stuff here. I just want to chalk sidewalks and buy ice cream.

Simplicity is the answer.

9:23 p.m. - 2004-05-31

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

Sullivan40
CubicleGirl
Toastress
isingsolo


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com