graceland's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Everyone's on deck

Guess what? I got promoted. I'm a VP.

Everything else is ok. It's one of those periods when I feel like I'm chugging along in medocrity and then I wonder, "Will there come a time when I realize that this was happiness and I just never recognized it as such?"

This weekend, I picked up the furniture I received as Christmas gifts. I'm sitting on one piece now. I kinda it like it. Now I need a new desk.

My birthday is next week. My parents gave me a slipcover for my sofa. I'm not sure what that means. I asked my mom to pick up this slipcover for me at a sale and I would reimburse her. On Mother's Day she cheerfully announced that was my birthday gift and I couldn't really protest, I mean it *is* a gift and it *was* her day. It just doesn't sit right though, recieving a slipcover for my birthday. It feels a bit, grown up. It freaks me the f*ck out.

Tonight I stood in the Duane Reade below my apartment building, staring at the dusty Incredible Hulk collectibles on the top shelf, wishing that someone would give me one of them for my birthday. I love the hulk and I'm not a comic freak. I don't like animation either. I love the hulk. I thought about buying it for myself, but I came to my senses. What am I going to do with a Hulk action figure? That's a little ridiculous and I'm trying to scale down on crap anyway. No more clutter, please, God, no more.

What else can I tell you? Yesterday, I was trying to park this car I borrowed for the weekend and I just couldn't decide if my spot was legal. Two retired men came over and evalutated my legality. I moved the car to another spot.

Then I couldn't get it close enough to the curb, so I called my new friend on the way to his bartending gig and asked him to swing by and check out if he thought I was close enough to the curb. We talked as he walked to meet me and I cut my leg on a rusty nail extending from a car's license plate.

"Shit! I cut my leg. Badly. There's a gash of blood running down it."

"Grace! What did you cut your leg on?!"

"A nail..uh, oh, a rusty nail. God, there is danger everywhere, can you hurry up and help me?!"

"This city is too dangerous for you. It's amazing you are still alive."

"It really is," I agreed. A rusty nail. Good thing my doctor makes me get a tentanus shot nearly every year.

Just then my super happened along and I asked his opinion on my park job. He said I wasn't close enough and then offered to move it for me. "Thanks!" I said brightly.

I told my friend on the phone what happened, and I am pretty sure he thinks I am insane. He was like, "Wha..the super's moving the car?"

Right. The super moved the car.

Then there was this other weird encounter as I was coming out of the bodega after moving the car. I saw this athletic looking guy, smile at me and lift his hand I recognized it as the neighbor whose name I can never remember and who I always manage to say something moronic to. By the time I realized all this, his stride met mine and we walking over to our building.

He knows my name. He's good. I have name issues. Turns out he went to college with my best friend's brother. Oh yes. They played a team sport to together and were All American or something. I managed to not say anything retarded, a first, and as he got out, he gave me the "goodnight, name" wink.

That was weird, I suddenly thought. He just gave the wink. That's such a cocky guy thing to do. It's so college. I laughed to myself.

College. Made me nostalgic all day. Collllllllllllllllleggggggggggggge.

I think that will be his nickname from this day forth.

Oh and one other thing - the International Man of mystery contacted me yesterday.

Glad to see everyone's on deck for my birthday.

10:01 p.m. - 2004-05-11

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

Sullivan40
CubicleGirl
Toastress
isingsolo


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com