graceland's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Divine Intervention Steps In and Kicks Me in the Ass

Yesterday was a complex day. I woke up early and went to Verizon to get my new phone set up. I left my charger for my old phone in Philthy last weekend and at the end of my battery life, I decided to switch over from pre-paid to a plan. It's something I had been planning to do for a while, it makes sense, costs less, but giving up my phone and starting over was something I procrastinated doing. There are some people with my old number that I haven't spoken with in a long time. It's not like I've called them either, but it's nice to know that they can reach me if they need to. A crutch maybe. Unrealistic.

So I did it and left with my new phone. My old phone is still working, but dead until I get that charger again. I wasn't able to transfer the number, because it was a pre-paid deal and you can't transfer those numbers. That was bittersweet, knowing that those people are gone now, but I had to do it.

Later that day as I was running errands, I was switching my phone charm from the old phone to the new one when my phone rang. It was my friend from LA who I had just texted with my new number. I was walking to the wine shop, caught up in conversation with her and forgetful of the fact that I hadn't secured the charm onto my new phone. As I left the shop, I realized that the charm was gone. It must have fallen off.

I started to get upset about that and asked my friend if I could call her back. I retraced my steps over the few blocks I had traveled, up and down the aisles of the tiny wine store, but I couldn't find it anywhere. I must have walked from my apt. to the wine shop three times, desparately searching for the charm.

I called my friend back and tried to explain to her what happened. "I don't know, it's sounds so silly, this charm, but it had a sentimental value for me and I just feel like this is end of something bigger for me, now that it's gone. It's stupid, it's just a charm, but it meant something to me...and now it's gone."

"I'm really sorry about that, Grace," she said to me. "You are just like Carrie," she said, referring to Sex in the City. "Uggh," I groaned. "Please, not that, anything but that." I shook myself from this melancholy over a trinket.

I headed over to a BBQ at a friend's in the neighborhood and I just couldn't shake the idea of having lost that charm. I don't why I couldn't let it go, but I kept heading out to look for it on the street until one of the guys came out and grabbed my arm and said, "Stop. It's gone. Let it go," and I realized this is insanity. I lost my keys on the street one day and couldn't even find them, how would I ever find this tiny phone charm? It was ludcrious.

I went back to the BBQ and someone handed me a cosmo. I don't even drink cosmo's, but I was in tatters from the night before and unable to think about drinking, so they suggested I start with the cosmo. It was perfect. I was sitting on a park bench, under a tree in this person's huge backyard (a backyard in the city! Perfection!) speaking with an English couple that I am friends with, when they told me that I reminded them of Carrie from Sex in the City with my cosmo and I told them that's the second time someone had said that to me that day. I explained about the charm.

And the girl said, "That's too bad about your charm, but maybe it was time for it to go. I find that when things like that happen, it's often a sign. You may not have wanted it to go, but the choice was made for you." Her boyfriend agreed. I agreed. Perhaps it was time for it to go.

Perhaps it is time for a fresh start. A clean slate.

So I stayed and had a fantastic time at the BBQ. I met an interesting musician in a punk band. I spoke with a lot of people. I shotgunned a beer with a group of people. Came in second.

Headed to a bar with the group after the BBQ and around midnight I thought, I want to go home. So I did.

It was fantastic.

PS - Go Flyers;-)

4:21 p.m. - 2004-04-25

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

Sullivan40
CubicleGirl
Toastress
isingsolo


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com