graceland's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Pop the champagne and get it done

Saturday night was ridiculous. I had 20 dollars to my name and was ordered downtown to drink with some friends in from out of town. So I hit 60 Thompson and then the group headed out to a wedding for some of their friends and my best friend D. and I headed to the Maritime Hotel for some drinks.

Before we left, one of my friends slipped me $80 for an imaginary football pool that I allegedly "won" and D. had $150. Both of our credit cards were maxed. The game plan was to make our money last for 3 hours until we met up with everyone again and could drink on someone's dime.

I started to get nervous after we ate a pizza and finished our second bottle of champagne. D. was confident that the others would show. They did show, in a flurry, and very drunk. Some other people joined us first, about 5 of them with drinks all on our tab. Then our friends showed, drunk, and they liked our champagne and ordered 2 more bottles.

Before the champagne arrived, one of them said she was tired and started to leave. The whole group got up, D. got pissed and said "leave then" and I said, "no, stay" drunkenly wondering how we were going to pay this growing tab if everyone fled. I ordered a round of shots for everyone, thinking they would stay. The shots came and they left. I asked for the tab.

D. and I got the tab and it was around $500. Uh oh. We didn't have $500. F- it, she says, it'll work out, let's drink this stuff. I panic. What happens when you can't pay your bill? I start warming up to the maitre d', inquiring about the space for events for my clients.

D. tries to put down her credit card. It's declined. "Ok," we say to the waitress, "no problem. Give us a few minutes." I'm getting out my phone to dial my best guy friend and tell him he has to come down and bail our asses out, which probably would be a less than pleasant experience as we haven't been speaking since our last fight over my public display of hatred for his girlfriend. And it would really decimate the stand I am trying to make. I consider calling back the guy who booty called me a few hours earlier and I blew off. Just then our friend M.D. returns.

I explain the situation and he puts down a card and picks up the whole check. And then he orders 2 more bottles of Vueve. And so it went.

As usual, MD and I are the last men standing. I take him all over the city, on a bar tour of sorts, running across the streets, through traffic and in and out of taxi's as the others drop-off pleading severe drunkeness and exhaustion.

He and I wrapped it up around 5am. I guess it was 5am based on the reported scathing phone messages I left for a few individuals as I sat outside on my stoop, finished my beer, smoked a butt and watched the last of the Saturday night revelers stumble past me on their way home. I watched dawn break and then went up to my apt to call it a night.

Sunday I went grocery shopping and had my credit card declined for $8.80 worth of groceries. I laughed. Who cares anymore?

I spent much of the day trying to talk D. off the ledge because she couldn't remember the latter part of the night and worried about bad behavior.

Spring into spring I say. Who the hell cares about anything anymore? Let's just get this done, this life thing. No more holding back, people aren't worth it. I'm tired of being disappointed in people. No one is giving out scholarships for martyr's. It's time to dust off the devil horns and get down and dirty again.

9:29 p.m. - 2004-03-22

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

Sullivan40
CubicleGirl
Toastress
isingsolo


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com