graceland's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Things are falling into place

Today started like most, up at 5:30am, 6:15am spinning, 7:15am shower, at my desk a little before 9am.

My best friend from high school, who I haven't spent time with in about 10 years, touched down in NYC about 8:30am. I spoke with her and made evening plans.

And then the chaos began. Work is insane. I was alone, manning my accounts and my department as everyone was pulled away.

On the side, I was working with my beer sponsor for my party on Sunday. I had to figure out a way to get to this wholesale distributor my 7:30am on Friday morning or I will have no beer for my party on Sunday.

Less than 24 hours to make it happen. Run Lola, run.

I love a challenge. The truth is, that although my insides feel like they are going to rip out of my body from the stress, I love the feeling of achievement when the impossible happens.

I sent SOS e-mails, got out my address book and started heavy phone work.

By 3:30PM, I stopped and took a break for lunch. I still did not have confirmation from my beer sponsor that the kegs and promotional materials were secured. I had no transportation for them when they were.

Around 4:30PM, I started to develop a crisis plan. I began pricing out kegs in the event that I needed to buy them on Saturday. I paid my credit card and started calling around for U-Haul trucks in the event I needed to rent one to pick up the kegs. I had a friend hold a rental car. Wheels turned rapidly.

The beer confirmation came through. Details rolled in. A friend found a another friend with a car and huge heart to get up and do this with me before work.

It was 6PM. I left for dinner with my high school friend, got waxed en route to dinner. Had a great time at dinner and walked home with my friend. Called tomorrow's driver and confirmed plans.

Got home and started making arrangements for a roommate to go with me to get the beer. realized that she can only ride over with me without being late for work.

Changed and went out to my local bar. Borrowed a keg dolley and made arrangements to leave for them at the deli next door after using tomorrow morning. Reserved 6 bags of ice for tomorrow morning and ordered 12 more at the bodega.

Found a guy in the local bar who lives across the street and will be on call for 8am unloading of kegs. Found another guy with 2 keg tubs who will run over tubs at 8am to my apartment.

Came home. Listened to roommate update on guy situation. Offered advice and commentary. Returned call for friend in dire need of cool halloween costume. Opened up my storage chest and found her complete attire for Medusa. Pulled fallen angel costume, with lifesize wings, for roommate.

Locked myself in the bathroom. The first part is done. If everything runs as planned, I will have completed the essential party elements prior to work at 9am tomorrow morning.

I just have to make until Saturday, when the 3 people sleeping in my room (yes, 4 of us are sleeping in my room)show up. Once they arrive I will kick into party mood and not stop until I collapse on Monday.

Shit, I made plans to work with some other people Monday night.

I'm becoming that girl again. The once I used to be on here.

Just please don't let me do any keg stands.

11:36 p.m. - 2003-10-30

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

Sullivan40
CubicleGirl
Toastress
isingsolo


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com