graceland's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

A tornado of everything and nothing

I should update, I know I should but I just don't feel like it.

I had a great week, went to the US Open and watched the Agassi-Dent match from amazing box seats. Matthew Perry walked right in front of me to get to his seat. Rick Fox sat in front of me.

I went out for dinner with a cool new friend that I've known online for about a year and she planted a strong buzz in my ear about changing my life, starting my own business, and I am seriously thinking about it. It's a big step and an even bigger risk. I'm scared, I'm afraid of risks.

I had a bang up week at work, assuming a greater, more advanced role and taught myself how to do new things and that was fulfilling. I am exhausted, but I feel like I accomplished something, that I contributed more and this is a feeling I haven't felt in a very long time.

Last night I spent time with a Latina woman from the Bronx who was drowning her sorrows over a cheating men who is manipulating her. I listened to her and I (hope) that I empowered her and by the end of the evening there were big hugs and she thanked me. I gave her my phone number so that she can call me when she wants to call him; she doesn't have many friends, she was a teenage mom and has spent her time raising her children alone. It made me feel really good to lend her some strength and good to have the strength to lend.

Today I kinda crashed. It's that time of year again and subconsconciously it sneaks up on me. The CNN reporter who interviewed me during my search for friends after September 11, got in touch to let me know that she's thinking about me.

It's weird that it's been two years. In some ways it feels longer but in other ways it feels shorter. I can still see the faces and hear the voices of my friends who died in the WTC's. Yet, so much has happened since they died. So much has changed. I've changed. We've all changed. I don't feel as sad anymore and that scares me a little. I think of them no less then when they died two years ago.

The anniversary of their deaths is next week.

8:33 p.m. - 2003-09-05

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

Sullivan40
CubicleGirl
Toastress
isingsolo


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com