graceland's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Starting a new life

On a whim this week, I made an appt at a hair salon I discovered across the street from my new apartment.

Earlier in the week, I made a weekend appt to have my hair colored and cut at a center city salon that I had read about in several national magazines as the place to go around here. My roommate had visited this salon a few years ago and she wasn�t impressed, but I thought I�d give it a try because she and I have different hair criteria.

Then Thursday night, the first night I didn�t have plans to meet someone after work, I decided to walk across the street from my apt building, literally curb-street-curb, and check out the two restaurants across the street. I�d heard a lot about one of them from friends.

I checked them out and quickly saw that it wasn�t just two restaurants across from me, but a new �galleria� type area created for pedestrian traffic-only down 3 blocks of real estate. I was so excited to find civilization; what I had seen of my neighborhood up until this point was a cool vibe but sprawled. No area with all of the conveniences. I felt like Alice falling through a magic hole into Wonderland. Which I guess is better than feeling like Alice in �What about Alice?�

Of all the great shops in this little stone pathway, it was the drycleaner that excited me the most. Pathetic, I know. After processing that excitement, I took everything in, including a hair salon. The place was well designed but empty. I had no idea if it was empty because the staff sucked or if they had just opened, or because it was close to closing time on a weekday.

Being the hair adventurer, I impulsively decided to make a hair appt on Thursday evening for early Saturday afternoon and cancel the previously scheduled appt elsewhere. I thought, �why the hell not? If it sucks it can�t be much worse than it looks like right now and I can always get corrective color.� I know corrective color *very* well.

So I went to the appt on Saturday and I was assigned to a guy who uncannily resembled Kurt Cobain. It mean, seriously. The guy is straight, which I know because he mentioned his girlfriend once, and we hit if off. He apologized for taken long with my hair and explained that he felt comfortable with me. I felt the same way.

He did an amazing job with my hair, which I knew he would do as soon as we met. It was unlike any other meeting I can remember. I can�t really describe what made it our meeting so �stand out� � it�s not like some romance novel where �our eyes connected across the crowded art gallery opening, speaking volumes� I just felt comfortable with this guy. Attracted to him and relaxed. Unusual for me, usually when I am attracted to someone I start acting weird.

So I left and ran some errands, psyched about my hair. I ran into him about an hour later when I was doing some street fair shopping in the galleria area further up from the salon and he had these sunglasses on that made him look like Kurt with the heart shaped ones. He stopped and waved at me. I waved back.

I love connecting with new people. It�s kind of like a buzz.

12:15 a.m. - 2006-10-09

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

Sullivan40
CubicleGirl
Toastress
isingsolo


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com